Regions and Districts #

As a member of WSNA, you are also a member of the District or Regional Nurses Associ­a­tion for the county in which you live.

Region and District Nurses Associations #

Central Region (planned)
Currently includes Districts 6 and 18

Kittitas and Yakima counties

Inland Empire Nurses Associ­a­tion
Adams, Lincoln, Pend Oreille, Spokane, Stevens and Whitman counties

King County Nurses Associ­a­tion
King county

North Central Region (planned)
Currently includes District 7
Chelan, Douglas, Ferry, Grant and Okanogan counties

North­west Region Nurses Associ­a­tion
Island, San Juan, Skagit, Snohomish and Whatcom counties

Rainier Olympic Nurses Associ­a­tion
(formerly Pierce County Nurses Associ­a­tion or PCNA)
Clallam, Grays Harbor, Jefferson, Kitsap, Mason, Pierce and Thurston counties

South­east Region (planned)
Currently includes Districts 5 and 15
Asotin, Benton, Columbia, Franklin, Garfield, Klick­itat and Walla Walla counties

South­west Region Nurses Associ­a­tion
Clark, Cowlitz, Lewis, Pacific, Skamania, and Wahki­akum counties

Regions map for web

Transition from Districts to Regions #

In 2018, the WSNA Board of Direc­tors approved a plan to create Regional Nurses Associ­a­tions, combining multiple existing WSNA Districts to better meet the needs of members.

District Nurses Associ­a­tions have been a part of WSNA from the begin­ning. Districts are unrelated to Local Units and are not involved in collec­tive bargaining (union) activ­i­ties. All members of WSNA are also members of their District or Regional Nurses Associ­a­tion. They are supported by a portion of member­ship dues and are intended to provide educa­tional offer­ings, schol­ar­ship fundraising and networking on a local level.

While larger Districts have success­fully fulfilled that mission, most of the county-based districts are too small to effec­tively manage a program of local offer­ings. The combined resources of Regional Nurses Associ­a­tions will offer members more oppor­tu­ni­ties and, we trust, result in more vibrant organizations.

Common questions #

Why do Regions / Districts exist? #

District nurses associ­a­tions in Washington state first formed as county graduate nurses associ­a­tions” as far back as the late 1890s, and they exist to this day. District and Regional Nurses Associ­a­tions provide educa­tional offer­ings, schol­ar­ship fundraising and networking on a local level.

Am I a member of a Region / District? #

Yes. All WSNA members are a member of the region or district for the county in which they live. 

How are Regions / Districts different from local units? #

Local units are an impor­tant part of the collec­tive bargaining program and are specific to the facility where an individual nurse works. Those WSNA members who are repre­sented by WSNA for collec­tive bargaining are also members of the local unit for the facility at which they work. 

Regions / Districts are not involved in collec­tive bargaining (union) activ­i­ties and are deter­mined by the county in which a member resides. Every WSNA member is a member of the Regional or District Nurses Associ­a­tion for the county in which they live.